Ruin & Rising Review

About the Book:

Title: Ruin & Rising

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company

Release Date: June 17, 2014

Pages: 422

Genre: YA Fantasy


The capital has fallen.

The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.

Now the nation’s fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.

Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still (5)
Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova’s amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling’s secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction—and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.





Absolutely amazing conclusion to this epic series! This book picked up right where Siege and Storm left off. Alina and the gang are underground recovering from the Darkling’s attack, but know that they can’t stay there forever. They need to look for the final amplifier. Alina begins to figure out some of the Darkling’s secrets, and it reveals a past that changes her understanding of her power and the bond they share. The firebird is what they need to stop the destruction of Ravka, and claiming it could cost Alina everything she’s fighting for. A story full of twists and turns, angst, tears and heartbreak. It was everything I could have hoped for.

Leigh’s writing is just so beautiful and magical. The world is one I don’t want to leave. I also loved the character development that happened throughout the series. The Darkling has become one of my new favorite villains and I absolutely adore Nikolai. I am glad that I completed the trilogy before the new Netflix series starts. I’m super excited for it! Also, going to be reading the Six of Crows duology and King of Scars soon.

About the Author:

Leigh Bardugo is a #1 New York Times bestselling author of fantasy novels and the creator of the Grishaverse (coming soon to Netflix) which spans the Shadow and Bone Trilogy, the Six of Crows Duology, The Language of Thorns, and King of Scars— with more to come. Her short stories can be found in multiple anthologies, including the Best American Science Fiction & Fantasy. Her other works include Wonder Woman: Warbringer and Ninth House (Goodreads Choice Winner for Best Fantasy 2019) which is being developed for television by Amazon Studios. Leigh was born in Jerusalem, grew up in Southern California, and graduated from Yale University. These days she lives and writes in Los Angeles. For information on new releases and appearances, sign up for her newsletter.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s