The Deceivers: Review

About the Book:

Title: The Deceivers

Author: Kristen Simmons

Publisher: Tor Teen 

Release Date: February 4, 2020

Pages: 400

Genre: YA Contemporary, YA Mystery 


Kristen Simmons, the author of the Article 5 series and Metaltown, brings her remarkable imagination to this intrigue-filled contemporary drama where good kids are needed to do some very bad things in The Deceivers.

Welcome to Vale Hall, the school for aspiring con artists.

When Brynn Hilder is recruited to Vale, it seems like the elite academy is her chance to start over, away from her mom’s loser boyfriend and her rundown neighborhood. But she soon learns that Vale chooses students not so much for their scholastic talent as for their extracurricular activities, such as her time spent conning rich North Shore kids out of their extravagant allowances.45046597
At first, Brynn jumps at the chance to help the school in its mission to rid the city of corrupt officials—because what could be better than giving entitled jerks what they deserve? But that’s before she meets her mark—a senator’s son—and before she discovers the school’s headmaster has secrets he’ll stop at nothing to protect. As the lines between right and wrong blur, Brynn begins to realize she’s in way over head.










This was my first Kristen Simmons book, and I loved it! I was definitely drawn to the story as it’s a boarding school story, and it’s not just a normal boarding school, it’s a school for con artists. 

Brynn Hilder is recruited to Vale Hall and it seems that this elite academy is her ticket out of her broken down neighborhood and her mom’s abusive boyfriend. She quickly finds out that the students at Vale Hall aren’t necessarily chosen for their grades, but for their “extracurricular” activities, like her time spent conning rich kids out of their allowances. Brynn jumps at the chance to join the school. Vale Hall helps rid the city of corrupt officials. Brynn feels drawn to the mission, as she feels that they should get what they deserve. But then she meets her mark, the son of a senator, named Grayson. She discovers that Vale’s headmaster has secrets that he’ll do anything to protect. The lines between right and wrong start to blur, and Brynn realizes that she may be in too deep. 

This book kept me engaged and entertained, and I am super excited to start the second book, Scammed, soon! The third book, Payback, is releasing on February 2, 2021. 

About the Author:

Kristen Simmons is the author of the ARTICLE 5 series, THE GLASS ARROW, METALTOWN, PACIFICA, and the upcoming DECEIVERS. She loves her family, Jazzercise, and chocolate cupcakes. She currently lives in Cincinnati, Ohio.

For more updates on Kristen and her writing, follow her on Twitter and Instagram at @kris10writes4692856


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s