Unhinged Special Edition (The Underworld Saga, #1): Review

About the Book:

Title: Unhinged Special Edition (The Underworld Saga, #1)

Author: Chani Lynn Feener 

Publisher: Independently published

Release Date: November 28, 2020

Pages: 450

Genre: YA Fantasy, YA Paranormal, YA Mythology 


The Underworld is real.71TpPq+uWKL

Spencer Perry knew it was a long shot when she started searching for a way into the Underworld, the ancient Greeks resting place for the dead. But three months ago her boyfriend died and now she’ll do anything to get him back, even make a deal with the devil himself. Only, Hades isn’t what she expected, and neither is the proposal he offers. In exchange for Micah’s resurrection, all she has to do is spend every night for the next year down below. From the very first meeting the god makes her feel things she shouldn’t, but she takes the deal anyway, knowing in the end it’ll be worth it. Except, as soon as their bargain begins, strange things start happening. People are being attacked by invisible forces, and all signs point to the God of the Underworld being responsible. Has Spencer inadvertently unleashed hell on earth?







This was my first book by Chani Lynn Feener, and it did not disappoint! I loved this one! I was drawn in immediately when I learned it’s a Hades and Persephone retelling, and I love the new covers with artwork by Jemlin Creations. It has such a fun setting, as it takes place in our world, and the Underworld. 

Spencer Perry is in the summer before her senior year of high school, when she loses her childhood friend and love of her life, Micah. Three months after his death, she is determined to do anything to bring him back, including going to the Underworld and making a deal with the devil. 

Hades isn’t anything like what Spencer thought he would be, and his proposal isn’t either. To resurrect Micah, she just has to go to the Underworld every night for a year in exchange. She makes the deal with Hades, even though she felt things she shouldn’t at their first meeting, as she knows it will all be worth it in the end. After Spencer makes the deal, strange things start happening. People are being attacked, and signs point to the god of the Underworld as the culprit. She begins to wonder what exactly she has unleashed. 

I enjoyed Spencer as a protagonist, her two BFF’s Sydney and Quinn, Micah, Charlie and Hadrian so much. I’m super excited to continue reading the series, which includes three more books. It was fast paced, imaginative, and had some great twists. If you like Greek Mythology or fairytale retellings, I really think you’ll enjoy this one. 

About the Author:

Chani majored in Creative Writing at Johnson State College in Vermont. To pay her bills, she has worked many odd jobs, including, but not limited to, telemarketing, order picking in a warehouse, and filling ink cartridges. When she isn’t writing, she’s binging TV shows, drawing, or frequenting zoos/aquariums. She is the author of the Xenith trilogy, and the teen paranormal series, The Underworld Saga, originally written under the pen-name Tempest C. Avery. She currently resides in Connecticut. 

Have a question? Check her blog! https://chanilynnfeener.wixsite.com/a…

Find her on Instagram @TempestChani5171960

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s