Lakesedge (World at the Lakes Edge #1): Review

About the Book:

Title: Lakesedge 

Author: Lyndall Clipstone 

Publisher: Henry Holt & Co. (BYR)

Release Date: September 28, 2021

Pages: 384

Genre: YA Fantasy 

Synopsis:

A lush gothic fantasy about monsters and magic, set on the banks of a cursed lake. Perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Brigid Kemmerer.918XDtHt8kL

There are monsters in the world.

When Violeta Graceling arrives at haunted Lakesedge estate, she expects to find a monster. She knows the terrifying rumors about Rowan Sylvanan, who drowned his entire family when he was a boy. But neither the estate nor the monster are what they seem.

There are monsters in the woods.

As Leta falls for Rowan, she discovers he is bound to the Lord Under, the sinister death god lurking in the black waters of the lake. A creature to whom Leta is inexplicably drawn…

There’s a monster in the shadows, and now it knows my name.

Now, to save Rowan—and herself—Leta must confront the darkness in her past, including unraveling the mystery of her connection to the Lord Under. 

Review:

 

 

5

*I received an e-arc from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

This book was everything I had hoped it would be and more! It’s darkly seductive, lush, gothic, mysterious, romantic, magical, and utterly bewitching. I can’t believe this is the author’s debut, as it was that amazing! 

Violeta Graceling (Leta) and her brother Arien are orphans that have been taken in by a woman who lives near the edge of the forest.  Arien begins showing signs of dark magic, and Leta has been desperately trying to protect him. When the young Lord of the Lakesedge estate, named Rowan, comes to their town to collect the tithe, he takes them in to mentor Arien. Lakesedge is a mystifying old estate that is rumored to be cursed and haunted by a monster of the lake. Rowan urgently needs Arien’s help to control the darkness, known as the corruption, from taking over. Leta longs to know what secrets Rowan has been keeping. She discovers that the estate and the monster aren’t what they seem.

As Leta begins to fall for Rowan, she finds that he is bound to the Lord Under, the death god that lurks in the dark waters of the lake. Leta soon finds herself unexplainably drawn to this sinister creature. 

To save herself and Rowan, Leta needs to confront her past which includes a connection to the Lord Under. 

Just wanted to mention that the author has posted some content warnings for readers that you might want to check before reading this book. 

I need book two like now, and every edition of this book! Please add this one to your TBR, preorder and request from your local library. Perfect read for the fall, with all its spooky vibes! Coming September 28, 2021. 

 

About the Author:

Lyndall Clipstone writes YA Gothic about monsters and the girls who like to kiss them. A former youth librarian, she has a Bachelors in Creative Writing and a Graduate Diploma in Library and Information Management. She is represented by Jill Grinberg at Jill Grinberg Literary Management.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

One thought on “Lakesedge (World at the Lakes Edge #1): Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s