Engaging the Office Enemy (California Dreamin’ #5): Review

About the Book:

Title: Engaging the Office Enemy 

Author: Kristin Canary 

Publisher: Dreaming of You Press 

Release Date: September 26, 2022

Pages: 211

Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance 

Synopsis:

I hate fakers—and Dax Nyhart is as fake as they come.61221832._SY475_

I also hate to lose.

My nemesis has been stealing all the best clients for the last year at the marketing firm where we both work—and not because he’s better than me. Because 1) his uncle is the boss and 2) he kisses up to people.

And I’m sick of it.

So when he asks me to fake an engagement so he can land another job—far away from me—I agree. It’s only one dinner, right?

Yeah, sure. One dinner turns into an entire Caribbean cruise. But I’ll do anything to get rid of this pain in my backside. Even pretend to like Dax. Or love him, as it were.

Even hold his hand, laugh with him … kiss him. Discover that maybe there’s more to Dax Nyhart than meets the eye.

The problem? I have no idea what’s fake and what’s real anymore. I’m afraid this game we’re playing might leave me losing more than just clients to Dax.

And this loss might be the most painful of all.

Fans of Jenny Proctor and Emma St. Clair will love this closed-door, friends-to-lovers romantic comedy with lots of sizzle and spice, but no on-page explicit content.

Review:

5

*I received an e-arc from the author/publisher and all thoughts and opinions are my own*

This is my first book from this author, other than one other novella, and this won’t be my last! I was quickly sucked into this fun, contemporary romance. This is book five in the California Dreamin’ Series by Kristin Canary, and it can be read as a standalone or as a part of the series. I plan on reading the others I haven’t read as soon as I can. If you like enemies to lovers, fake dating, and one bed tropes, you won’t want to miss this one! 

Alexis is a graphic artist and her arch nemesis at work, Dax Nyhart, seems to be taking all of the best clients that she needs so that she can afford to pay off her mortgage. He’s not getting the work because he is better than Alexis, but because he’s the nephew of the boss and kisses up to everyone. Alexis is so sick and tired of it all. 

Dax comes to Alexis with a request for help. If she would go out to dinner with him and pretend to be his fiancée, he may be able to land a new job, one that would be far away from her. She agrees to the dinner, and that winds up turning into an entire Caribbean cruise. Alexis decides it will be worth it to get him out of her hair, so she’ll pretend to like him, or even love him if she has to.

Throughout the cruise, they hold hands, laugh, and even kiss. Alexis begins to see that there’s more to Dax than she thought. The lines begin to blur around what’s real and what’s not, and Alexis may have more to lose than just clients to Dax.

The witty banter and the chemistry between the two characters is an absolute delight! If you like romance, I highly recommend this one. 

About the Author:

Kristin is a thirty-something wife and boy mom who functions best on peach tea and cookie dough ice cream. She writes closed-door romantic comedies with lots of sizzle and spice but no explicit on-page content. A desert dweller, she always has her eye on the next trip to a beach somewhere–and if she can’t travel there in person, then you’d better believe she’s going to write about it. Kristin is never fully satisfied with a movie, TV show, or book without a hefty dose of romance in it, and she’s grateful to be living a true-life love story with her own crazy little family. Connect with her at KristinCanary.com.21643510

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s