Bearer of Masks (The Abnormal Spies Series #1): Review

About the Book:

Title: Bearer of Masks 

Author: Lauren Jade Case 

Publisher: Self- published 

Release Date: November 29, 2022

Pages: 288

Genre: Fantasy, Sci-Fi

Synopsis:

Many years ago, people suffered. A rampant virus mutated genes in less than one percent of the population, leaving them with abnormalities. The unaffected shunned them. They shamed the people they didn’t know their lives would come to rely upon.60298140

CHANDLER wants to run away. She craves freedom from her past and her mother. So when an opportunity arises that might take her away, she flees.

ZIVA wants something to be hers. Her whole life she’s had to share everything with her siblings. So when someone hands her an application that could mean standing out, she signs.

QUINTON wants adventure. He finally got it when he took a chance and now he’s made a whole new position for himself. So when things go to change again, he’s intrigued.

When Chandler and Ziva arrive for their first day at their new jobs, it’s not what they expect. And soon, it gets both better and worse.

They’re sent out on a mission, along with Quinton, to retrieve a lost artefact that could change the face of any wearer. But if they don’t recover it within the parameters set, and someone else finds it first, the fate of the world could be in danger.

– – –

Perfect for fans of Ally Carter’s Heist Society, Kirsten Krueger’s Affinities Novels, and James Bond but for a more rounded audience.

Review:

4

* I received an e-arc for review from the author. All thoughts are my own.*

This was my second book by Lauren Jade Case and it won’t be my last! She has quickly become one of my favorite indie authors. I really enjoyed Bearer of Masks and I can’t wait to read the sequel. If you enjoy fantasy and sci-fi with a dash of mystery, I think you’d really enjoy this book.

This book takes place in the year 2406. Many years ago, a rampant virus mutated the genes of people in less than one percent of the population, leaving them with abnormalities. Those unaffected shunned them, not knowing that they would come to rely upon them.

Chandler has always wanted to escape. She craves her freedom and wants to get away from her mother with whom she doesn’t have a good relationship. When a new employment opportunity arises, she decides to go for it.

Ziva wants something that’s hers and hers alone. Her whole life she’s had to share everything with her eight siblings. When someone gives her the opportunity to stand out, she signs on.

Quinton longs for adventure. He finally got it when he took a chance and made a whole new life for himself. When another opportunity for change presents itself, he’s intrigued.

When Chandler and Ziva arrive for their first day at their new jobs, it’s not what they were expecting. Soon, it gets both better and worse.

The girls are sent out on a mission with Quinton to retrieve a lost artifact that could change the face of anyone that wears it. But there’s a catch, if they don’t recover the artifact within the parameters set, the fate of the whole world could be in danger.

I quickly fell for this amazing cast of characters! They’re thrown together for a job and come to forge an amazing friendship. The friendship between them is what I loved most about the story. I also thought that the abnormalities were an interesting aspect and I loved learning more about them as the story progressed. Everything wrapped up fairly nicely at the end, but there were some things that were left open ended, and I can’t wait to read more.

This book is available now, so I hope you’ll check it out. I definitely recommend!

I was pleasantly surprised to see myself mentioned in the acknowledgments. It actually brought tears to my eyes and I’m so thankful.

About the Author:

Lauren Jade is a writer from a seaside town in England. She loves writing and reading fantasy, but also sci-fi, dystopia, and occasionally crime/mystery. When she isn’t writing, she can be found reading or talking on facetime with her best friend about trips to Scotland or future creative projects.19777977

Starlight is her debut novel and the first in a trilogy, with Starfall coming as the second book. Bearer of Masks is a completely new book set in an entirely new universe. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s