Starlight (The Starlight Trilogy #1): Review

About the Book:

Title: Starlight 

Author: Lauren Jade Case 

Publisher: Lauren Case 

Release Date: August 17, 2021

Pages: 323

Genre: YA Fantasy 

Synopsis:

“You’re like starlight itself, Natalia. You burn with all the power and shine of a star.”56617080._SY475_

Natalia Whitebell wanted her eighteenth birthday to be a simple affair and not for there to be a giant scorpion, a wolf, and a body at her doorstep. But in a blink, it all disappears.

When she finally does get to celebrate with her best friend, there’s gossip from the Island locals about a new family having moved in and of a large dog running wild – but no mention of more.

She thinks she’s going mad. Until she’s attacked in her own home just one day later.

Rescued and taken in by the new family, Natalia discovers the world isn’t so black and white. Stuck in an endless war, there are Monsters and there are Creatures. And she’s one of them.

While she cannot seem to reveal her true form, sealing her deal with trouble, she must accept this life that was always meant to be hers. It’s time she learnt the truth and acquire help from her father, the new family, and one boy in particular.

But there is a darkness lurking, waiting for her to unfurl.
 
 
 
 
 

Review:

5

*I received an e-arc from Booksprout in exchange for an honest review*

Okay, I have to admit that what initially attracted me to this book was it’s gorgeous cover. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect going into it. I am happy to report that this book exceeded my expectations, and I devoured it in a couple of days! There’s great world-building and a fun magic system in this debut from Lauren Jade Case. Perfect for fans of The Mortal Instruments or the Folk of the Air Trilogy, this story is sure to captivate you with its magical charm.

Natalia Whitebell just wanted to have a simple celebration on her eighteenth birthday. Instead, she winds up seeing a giant scorpion, a wolf, and a body on her doorstep. Not exactly what she had in mind. It all disappears too, in the blink of an eye.

When she finally gets to celebrate with her best friend, they overhear gossip from the Island locals that there’s a new family that’s moved to town, and there’s also a large dog running wild, but that’s all the information they get.

Natalia thinks that she’s been seeing things and completely losing it, until she’s attacked in her home a day later.

Rescued and taken in by the new family in town, she learns that the world isn’t as black and white as she’d always thought. There are Monsters and there are Creatures out there, and she is one of them.

She struggles to reveal her true form, sealing her deal with trouble, and must come to terms with living the life she was always meant to live. She needs to accept the truth and take help from her father, the new family, and one boy especially. But there is a darkness hiding, just waiting for her to unfold.

I just loved journeying through this story with Natalia. She had so much thrown at her, and she faced it with courage and bravery. She begins to discover so much about herself and her past, and she handles it all with grace. I really enjoyed all the side characters as well. I grew quite attached to the family that Natalia finds herself involved with, and I just loved her Dad and her BFF!

After that ending, I can’t wait for the next book! I think if you’re a fantasy fan that likes witches, vampires, and other mythical creatures you’ll enjoy this one. Add it to your TBR now, it’s out on August 17, 2021.

About the Author:

Lauren Jade is a writer from a seaside town in England. She loves writing and reading fantasy, but also sci-fi and dystopia. When she isn’t writing, she can be found reading or talking on face-time with her best friend about future projects. STARLIGHT is her debut novel and will be the first in a trilogy. 

19777977 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s