Strange Gods: Review

About the Book:

Title: Strange Gods 

Author: Alison Kimble 

Publisher: Immortal Works

Release Date: July 20, 2021

Pages: 336

Genre: YA Fantasy

Synopsis:

Spooky arrives at a wilderness boot camp for troubled teens with two suitcases and an ultimatum: either she keeps her head down over the summer or she won’t be allowed home at the end of it. All she wants to do is survive the pyros, bullies, and power-tripping counselors, get through senior year, and start her life somewhere new. She’ll do just about anything to protect that future. coverimage
But when an encounter with another camper goes awry and ends with Spooky hiding in the woods, something else finds her. Something ancient and powerful has sent out feelers, hoping to catch a human alone. For its purposes, one human is as good as any other. Even a delinquent teen will do.

If Spooky wants to survive to see any kind of future, she will have to figure out how to gain leverage over a god. And as if the one wasn’t bad enough, a pantheon of dark entities are lining up between her and the life she’s always wanted…

For fantasy fans, comes one girl’s journey through dark worlds of magic, gods, and monsters.

 

Review:

 

4

* I received an e-arc from the author in exchange for an honest review*

If you enjoy mythology and strange, quirky tales, I think  you will enjoy this solid debut from Alison Kimble! To be honest, I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect going into this one, but I was definitely pleasantly surprised. The story was engaging, and is perfect for fans of Percy Jackson, Lore, or Starcrossed! 

Lauren “Spooky” Specki finds herself at a boot camp for troubled teens after her stint to get her parents attention goes too far. She needs to keep her head down over the summer and stay out of trouble, or she won’t be able to return home when camp ends. Her goal is to survive all the bullies and power hungry camp counselors. She just wants to finish her senior year of high school, and start a new life for herself. She’s ready to do just about anything to protect that future. 

When an outing with another camper goes completely amiss, Spooky finds herself hiding in the woods so she won’t get caught out of her cabin. Something else finds her in those woods, that is ancient and powerful and trying to catch a human, and even a teen delinquent will do.

If Spooky is to get the future she dreams of, she will have to figure out how to acquire leverage over a god. What Spooky doesn’t realize, is that there are a host of other problems she must face on her journey to self-discovery. 

I’m really hoping after that ending that we get a sequel to this one! There’s definitely lots of room for one. Pretty please! 

This book released on July 20, 2021, so add it to your TBR if you haven’t already. Perfect for ya and middle grade fantasy fans, a magical quest story with unusual mythology, self-searching, friendship, and more! 

About the Author:

Alison Kimble began writing because she loves stories and believes in their power to shape our world and ourselves. Her writing blends the real and the fantastical and crosses genres of horror, fantasy, and sci-fi. Her debut novel, Strange Gods, will be published in July 2021. She lives in the Greater Seattle Area with her husband and spends her time walking in the woods, going to the movies, and seeking adventures large and small.headshot

Website: authoralisonkimble.com

Instagram: @authorakimble

Twitter: @authorakimble

Facebook: @authorakimblej

5 thoughts on “Strange Gods: Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s